What do you do for a living?

Spending time at my Grow Your Own vegetable plot with all the other weekend garden warriors, is great for the mind, body and soul. This Easter Weekend was no different.

Time well spent.  I charged up the old batteries, worked with manure, glared at the resilient weeds and chatted to the other gardening enthusiasts.

Met a new member of the local allotment society and after exchanging ‘Howdy Dos’, he asked me what I do for a living. I’m a writer, I said. He informed me that he was a Garbage Man.

A silence followed, as is want to happen when meeting someone for the first time.
Then he said, “So we are in similar trades” Not knowing quite what to reply, I merely frowned knowingly?

“Yea” he continued, “You write about it and I haul it!” and then, strangely enough, we both burst out laughing!

I think I’ve finally got the hang of this local sense of humour.

Like the saying goes – ‘One man’s trash is another man’s treasure’. Something that one person considers worthless may be considered valuable by someone else.

What I am trying to elude to is that no matter what the occupation of your reader is, the writer’s main goal is to enthrall, captivate, keep the reader coming back for more.

Secondly, no matter how you, the writer, considers his or her written work to be, trash or treasure, get someone else to read it, editing the first or second draft.

And finally, take the constructive criticism bravely; it is all part of the learning curve?

Tags: ,

About Richard J Lester

I write because I enjoy it and at times, am pretty darn good at it! Do not feel shy, I accept most forms of payment?

Leave a Reply

